PDA

**See This Page With Full Graphics, Pictures and Color!** CLICK HERE --> : CAL/CPL newsletter hacked?


WoodenPlank
06-04-2008, 04:12 PM
Ive been getting spam messages on my crap email account recently from the CAL/CPL newsletter (which I AM signed up for, as I used to play CAL). The header data (accoring to gmail) seems to be correct. Heres a copy/paste from gmail.
from CPL/CAL Newsletter <newsletter1@caleague.com> hide details Apr 27
reply-to CPL/CAL Newsletter <newsletter1@caleague.com>
to newsletter-bounces@caleague.com
date Apr 27, 2008 3:08 AM
subject why are you not repying?
mailed-by caleague.com

Hello! I am tired tonight. I am nice girl that would like to chat with you. Email me at Inger@hetoytet.cn only, because I am using my friend's email to write this. You will see some of my private pics.

Thoughts?

WoodenPlank
06-04-2008, 04:35 PM
I answered my own damn question. I figured Id google it after I posted this to see if anyone else was getting them...
http://www.point2click.net/wordpress/?p=26

SO, sounds like the owner of CAL/CPL may have sold the mailing list addresses to a spam bot. But, why is it that the emails are apparently coming directly from CAL?

oandapartycock
06-04-2008, 11:08 PM
Time to put *.caleague.com in the blocked senders list fast before these spammers start spreading you all over the place.

WoodenPlank
06-04-2008, 11:46 PM
Time to put *.caleague.com in the blocked senders list fast before these spammers start spreading you all over the place.

Oh, I flagged it as spam as soon as I saw it, and gmail has been filtering it for me. I know its had quite a few more of those emails get in the filter. The only reason the first two made it through is because it was coming from a formerly legitimate address before I added it to the block list.

Edit for additional:
Looks like the address is spitting out penis enhancement emails, online casino ads, and other similar shit. Damn, CAL really has fallen....