Help cure cancer/high five with your unused CPU cycles PART II (Folding@home)

Discussion in 'Computer and Console Gaming' started by patbattlefield, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    I don't know if any of you are familiar with folding@home. It is a program you can download that works in the background to help research cures for cancer, aids, etc. I saw that there was no wackbag team so I started one - it's team #46604. If anyone wants to participate goto http://folding.stanford.edu/ you can find all the info there.

    Mod edit: this is like SETI@Home, but for a good cause. Get involved!
    Mod Edit (11/30/06): The original thread is here. Trimmed down this one to help bring in new folders
  2. not_you_too

    not_you_too Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Yeah, we are mostly geeks with lots of CPU...
  3. HummerTuesdays

    HummerTuesdays Another girrrrl!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    On the road to ruin
    I'm so not a techie. Can someone put this into layman's terms? And yes, I did read their web site, too. I think I get it, but I'm not sure.
  4. zagman76

    zagman76 Wackbagger, Geek, Administrator Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12,139
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Twitter:
    zagman76
    Basically, the program uses your computer's CPU (which you can set to run when you are not using the computer) to simulate various biological functions (protien folding in this case). The resulting data is used by the scientists in their research.
  5. HummerTuesdays

    HummerTuesdays Another girrrrl!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    On the road to ruin
    Does this increase my vulnerability to viruses, spyware, and such?
  6. zagman76

    zagman76 Wackbagger, Geek, Administrator Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12,139
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Twitter:
    zagman76
    It shouldn't - the @home projects conly connect to the net to send/receive the results & workload, and they typically connect to university research servers/mainframes. As long as you have a firewall and an anti-virus program, you should be ok.
  7. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    you can also adjust how much cpu you want the program to use when it is available. also, if you are a gamer, I would recommend temporarily exiting while playing as there is a small bug that makes your screen minimize while playing certain games.

    Here's a Faq from the site about the points system. wierd though that u have no points. :icon_conf

  8. Mike Bizzle

    Mike Bizzle Registered User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I'm in too, but for some reason it won't do anything. It keeps saying "Couldn't get work instructions." Anyone know how to fix this. As for my settings, I am using IE settings
  9. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
  10. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    We're going to need a LOT more to beat THESE guys. :icon_eek:
  11. not_you_too

    not_you_too Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Something I found out today.. I you have a hyperthreading p4, folding@home only sees 1/2 the processor and will only use 50% at most. You have to run two instances to get max cpu.
  12. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    yes, but you can't run 2 instances of the gui version; it will only work if you run the console version on the other half of your cpu.
  13. not_you_too

    not_you_too Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Yep... fuck the gui, it burns cpu just trying to draw the screen
  14. zagman76

    zagman76 Wackbagger, Geek, Administrator Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12,139
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Twitter:
    zagman76
    I have a HT p4, and only 1 instance of the CLI app running, and it is using 100% of the CPU...
  15. not_you_too

    not_you_too Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    You have HT turned on? :)
  16. BigWilly

    BigWilly Just thoughts, no prayers.

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    Alright, I'm up and folding away now. This CPU usage is dedicated to my uncle John Pearson, 2003, lymphoma. He would have loved O&A.
  17. AgentSmith

    AgentSmith I fear that I've somehow been infected by it.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the Matrix...Waiting for an Exit
    Here's to Uncle John!!!!!!!!!!!!Cheers!
  18. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    This is from the folding@home hompage. Hope it helps:

    What are proteins and why do they "fold"?

    Proteins are biology's workhorses -- its "nanomachines." Before proteins can carry out their biochemical function, they remarkably assemble themselves, or "fold." The process of protein folding, while critical and fundamental to virtually all of biology, remains a mystery. Moreover, perhaps not surprisingly, when proteins do not fold correctly (i.e. "misfold"), there can be serious effects, including many well known diseases, such as Alzheimer's, Mad Cow (BSE), CJD, ALS, Huntington's, Parkinson's disease, and many cancers and cancer-related syndromes.

    What does Folding@Home do?

    Folding@Home is a distributed computing project which studies protein folding, misfolding, aggregation, and related diseases. We use novel computational methods and large scale distributed computing, to simulate timescales thousands to millions of times longer than previously achieved. This has allowed us to simulate folding for the first time, and to now direct our approach to examine folding related disease.



    How can you help?

    You can help our project by downloading and running our client software. Our algorithms are designed such that for every computer that joins the project, we get a commensurate increase in simulation speed.

    One can also help by donating funds to the project, via Stanford University.

    What have we done so far? We have had several successes. You can read about them on our Science page, Results section, or go directly to our press and papers page.

    yes, earlier in this thread i posted an interview with the head of the folding program and he explained that by using distributed computing they are able to leap 15 years ahead of the present technology available in supercomputers.

    For those of you who think this will hurt your PC here is an answer I found in a folding forum that should aleve your worries:


  19. AgentSmith

    AgentSmith I fear that I've somehow been infected by it.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the Matrix...Waiting for an Exit
    Can I run both the screen saver and console version at the same time? What happens if I run two console versions at the same time? ONLY if you install in different directories. Also, DO NOT just copy the files from one directory to each other. This will cause our server to get confused, and 1) you won't get credit for the work you do, and 2) it will be no use for science. Instead, run the install program twice into each directory. If you have already copied the program into multiple directories and are trying to run it, find the client.cfg file and delete the "userid=xxxxxxxx" line. Next time it connects to F@H, it should reset the client.cfg file, and all should be well.
  20. timp64

    timp64 New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida

    There is a way you can run two applications on your x2 and take advantage of your dual core processor.

    How do I set up a multi-processor/HT machine?
    **You will need to use the text console client**

    - Install the first client as described above except that you need to add the “-local” flag to your shortcut.
    - Make a second folder “FAH2” for example. Install the second instance just like the first but enter “2”
    for the machine ID.

    If you want to run two instances as a service, use the GUI service installer and simply enter 2 for the number of clients. The installer will set everything up for you.

    I found that here

    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?t=96729
  21. wheezy

    wheezy Three right turns make a left.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW NJ
  22. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
  23. wheezy

    wheezy Three right turns make a left.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW NJ
    1. Way too many spare machines (and a couple are really fast ones)
    2. Way too much time on my hands
    3. Way too competitive to let you guys show me up.

    I have everything from a 550MHz IBM 300PL (a dog) to a quad 3.06 GHz Xeon running this stuff. There's no chance of any pipes freezing in THIS basement.

    I have almost 2,300 points racked up today. That should help the team move up a couple of notches. :icon_wink
  24. patbattlefield

    patbattlefield New Wackbag

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA

    we need more guys like you on the team. thanks for the help.
  25. wheezy

    wheezy Three right turns make a left.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW NJ
    A new milestone for me

    I just broke the barrier for 2,000 average points per day. Check it out:
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/team_summary.php?s=&t=46604

    I think I still might have one more machine to fire up. I only have one more port left on my 8-port KVM switch, so that will be it for me.

    This sure beats running a space heater in my basement to keep the pipes from freezing. As soon as the weather gets warmer, I am going to have to back off. The cost of running the A/C to counteract this amount of heat would kill me.

    - wheezy

Share This Page

Copyright ©1999 - 2014, Wackbag