Looking for a large capacity external hard drive (4TB or so) with a power switch.

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by VMS, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. VMS

    VMS Victim of high standards and low personal skills.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    293
    I've got a 4TB Seagate external HD, which is nice, but my previous external HD was an Iomega HD that had an integrated power switch. That HD was only 2 TB or so.

    Anybody know of any inexpensive large capacity external HDs with a power switch? Or an HD enclosure with a power switch, so I can put a giant HD into it?
  2. Sinn Fein

    Sinn Fein Right-Wing Radical Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    29,086
    Likes Received:
    639
    Trophy Points:
    548
    Location:
    Florida's Nature Coast
    I used this enclosure to build an external drive for my FIOS DVR:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817173043

    It has a fan, power switch, and can take up to a 3TB drive.

    Can't find any single-bay enclosures that have higher capacity. There are dual-bay enclosures that will take a pair of 2TB drives.
  3. jsc315

    jsc315 AnalCunt

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,920
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    303
    Location:
    Evergreen Park,IL
    If your willing to spend a bit of cash check out a Drobo. It's kind of like a RAID system but very simple and redundant.

Share This Page

Copyright ©1999 - 2014, Wackbag