Advice for working as an independent contractor

mikeybot

SPANAKOPITA!!!
Jul 25, 2005
philly
Looks like I have a good shot at a pretty good job providing on site set-up/tech support, the only thing is that I'd be classified as an independent contractor. I've never worked under this situation before so I was wondering if anyone has any advice, suggestions or things to look out for.

Thanks

CousinDave

Dec 11, 2007
Ohio
Looks like I have a good shot at a pretty good job providing on site set-up/tech support, the only thing is that I'd be classified as an independent contractor. I've never worked under this situation before so I was wondering if anyone has any advice, suggestions or things to look out for.

Thanks

start shopping for medical insurance

LiddyRules

I'm Gonna Be The Bestest Pilot In The Whole Galaxy
Jun 1, 2005
Prepare to get ***** on taxes at the end of the year.

mikeybot

SPANAKOPITA!!!
Jul 25, 2005
philly
start shopping for medical insurance
Thanks, I actually have had my own since July of last year. Cobra is too fucking expensive.

Prepare to get ***** on taxes at the end of the year.
Yeah, I did a little reading before posting and I definitely plan on talking to an accountant.

Hate & Discontent

Yo, homie. Is that my briefcase?
Aug 22, 2005
Prepare to carry a LOT of liability insurance - if something goes wrong, YOU are going to get blamed. Doesn't matter if you did it or not, you will take the blame for it.

Edit to add: This is the exact reason why I am NOT doing this shit.

Von Maestro

Mar 12, 2010
Prepare to carry a LOT of liability insurance - if something goes wrong, YOU are going to get blamed. Doesn't matter if you did it or not, you will take the blame for it.

Edit to add: This is the exact reason why I am NOT doing this shit.
Related to the above, look into creating an S-Corp as an entity with which to bill & have your money flow through.

1) It will create a wall between you & your work for the above mentioned liability issue