Are you a professional?

SOS

ONA
Wackbag Staff
Aug 14, 2000
USA
Are you a professional? How does one act as a professional?

Ronreddog

Unofficial O&A Twitter Tough Guy
May 11, 2007
Sunny Florida
I am a professional asshole, does that count? :icon_mrgr

I consider myself a professional in the IT field. I have been working in the field for 7 years, supporting end users, and also, working on servers, desktops, laptops, and wireless devices. I have been in a customer service type position for over 20 years.

Professionalism is all on how you present yourself, IMO.

LiddyRules

I'm Gonna Be The Bestest Pilot In The Whole Galaxy
Jun 1, 2005
My incompetence, lack of skills and utter defeatism prevents me from being or becoming any sort of professional.

sbrainb

Go suck a bag of dicks.
Jul 27, 2007
New York City
I'm a professional.... a professional geek. I basically get paid to be nerdy.
But seriously, my field is a relatively small one and there aren't a lot of people who understand or can do what I do, so yeah, I guess.

Am I professional as I work? I would say yes. Occasionally we drop some f-bombs around here if we're getting stressed, but the whole department does it. However I do conduct myself professionally. Sometimes in meetings when I get the floor I sound all professional-like.

krisko

Mrs. Fuckin Funny
Jul 29, 2005
Cupcake Capital, USA
um...well i'm a professional bill collector in that it is my current profession. in aprill i'll be a political scientist...woop

nolajersey

Miss Wackbag Cleavage 2006 & 2007
Jun 2, 2006
Dirty Jerzee
I am a professional when dealing with the accounts here. I am also the Customer Service manager so I am very professional on the phones. However when we are not on the phones we are a bunch of children.

Ronreddog

Unofficial O&A Twitter Tough Guy
May 11, 2007
Sunny Florida
One of the key points I left out is separating personal from professional. Here is an example, that I dealt with yesterday: