BBQ with charcoal for dummies

roche

i am lame
Wackbag Staff
May 28, 2004
Dallas, TX
When I was a kid growing up, all I had was a gas grill. That thing died ages ago. This past 4th I decided to get a mini Webber charcoal grill because I was tired of the Foreman grill I have destroying the quality of my steaks.

I am a total dummy when it come to this as I have no experience with a Charcoal grill. The first steak I cooked tasted like gas or something. I assume this is because I didn't let the charcoal get hot enough and burn off the lighter fluid.

Can anyone give me cooking tips that you would give a 10 year old? I know I stink, but I have always just used propane were this stuff wasn't an issue. I am planning on cooking another steak tonight and I don't wanna fuck it up.

Sinn Fein

Infidel and White Interloper
Wackbag Staff
Aug 29, 2002
Florida's Nature Coast
Real men don't need lighter fluid. Seriously, buy the stuff that comes in the small bags where you just light the bag.

Tax Kuntz

just being an ass
Jul 6, 2003
Parsippany, NJ
Wait until the coals change color (white/ash-like) before cooking anything.

NotSoFast

Apr 23, 2006
Thibodaux, LA USA
Someone in Texas can't use a grill? :icon_redf

Buy the coals that say they can be lit without lighter fluid. Follow instructions on bag for proper lighting. Wait till the coals are completely white before cooking.

And for proper steaks, the pit must have a thick metal grill to hold the heat and sear the juices in the meat. The thin "wire" type doesn't cut it.

Remove meat BEFORE it gets to the desired state of done-ness. It will continue cooking for about 5 minutes after it is removed from the heat. If you want medium-rare, remove it while it still looks rare, etc.

Aug 5, 2004
Go get yourself a couple of things
- Charcoal Chimney
- Natural Lump Charcoal (none of that briquette shit)
- a bag of mesquite chips
- a bag of hickory chips

To start your fire: