FBI Background Check

Jan 25, 2006
Saint Louis
Question... I can't seem to get a 100% answer from the interwebs on this.

What exactly is on an FBI Background check?
Purely criminal history, and only criminal history?

I have a job interview coming up this week, and the guy who does the hiring told me, "Just so you know, I'm an ex-police officer and I'll be doing an entire FBI background check as well"

I'm wondering mainly out of curiosity because I've never been arrested, or appeared in court, etc.
Just traffic tickets.

But does the background check also tell them work history? Because like everyone, I assume, I do a little resume padding and "fibs" as I call them.

I figure, if you really want to dig around and catch me that I only volunteered once at a Nursing Home and not the 5/1/2009-2/1/2010 that I claimed go for it.
Or that I really only worked as a pizza delivery driver in 2008 for 5 months and not the whole year, good luck finding someone at Dominos who cares enough to look it up for you.

I don't lie about education, but if someone did, would that pop up as well?
Or, just criminal?

Now that I wrote this out, I feel dumb thinking that a background check is going to give them work dates at Pizza places, but It's already written, so fuck it.

OccupyWackbag

Dec 12, 2011
the guy who does the hiring told me, "Just so you know, I'm an ex-police officer and I'll be doing an entire FBI background check as well"
He's a shit dick. If you don't have a criminal record you're fine. Traffic tickets might be a different story if the job require you to drive. Him being an ex cop means nothing.

If he does use his ex copness (e.i. calling up a didn't get fired yet and now trying to scare job applicants buddy to run you through the system) to get info on you he'll be breaking the law (as well as the cop) AND he'll get less info then that FBI background check that ANY employer can do provides.

Jan 25, 2006
Saint Louis