Finding A Job

I graduated the other month, degree in Sociology, so I can basically look into a lot of stuff. Gov't jobs, social services, business shit, etc.

However, I'm not exactly sure how you go about finding an actual job, I mean I've had shittier jobs like grocery store bagger, I currently deliver pizzas (Which I like doing), but how do you find a so called real job?

I've been to Monster, Careerbuilder, and looked in the papers. There appears to be nothing. On all those sites it's all or nothing jobs, they're either "No Degree, no experience required" or "Make 15.99 and hour from home!"

Or the other side "5-6 years experience required, masters degree in ___ required"

Maybe these sites just blow, but without the internet I can't do anything. I wasn't expecting a job to fall out of the sky, but I thought it'd be sort of simple, just send out mass resumes and see what sticks, but there's nothing really to send to.

Another thing is I've found I have a misconception of income, alot of these jobs I'm like "Well, maybe I can do that" it'll say starting pay: $24,000. So I'll say to myself I can make $11.5 at Starbucks and it'll be a lot easier.
I guess the point is to start low, and hope to work your way up... but I'm lazy and have no patience.

How did you all find your first job? Just knew people?, or just went in to places or something and asked for a job? Used the internet or paper?

HummerTuesdays

Another girrrrl!!!
I thought most colleges have a job placement office. Start there. Also network with your professors to get some ideas.

Knowing people certainly helps. Those "no experience, no degree" jobs are bullshit jobs that you don't want to bother with.

Hummer made a great point, check out your school's placement department first. They already have the contact, you just need to get the interview and get the job.