OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

Florida governor retreats on worker drug tests

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by stevethrower, Jun 20, 2011.

1. stevethrower

stevethrower Got Sig?

Link

2. Buster H

Buster H Alt-F4
    Wackbag Staff

fucking ACLU... I'm all for testing the people that are supported by the taxpayer

3. Hate & Discontent

Hate & Discontent Yo, homie. Is that my briefcase?

This.

4. Begbie

Begbie Wackbag Generalissimo

I guess the question really is how much testing will cost and how it's going to be paid. It's not like Florida has the money for it.

It is ultimately worth the cost though. I've worked for a few companies that do random drug tests, I think most of us have at some point...it's no big deal. And if anything, as a manager, I learned that it has actually kept employees from abusing drugs and making bad decisions. They don't want to lose their jobs, they know the company does random drug testing, and they know the company punishes/terminates employees for failing their drug tests. They've got a damn good reason for not turning to drugs and they stay clean. Nothin wrong with it, especially when you're occupying a position that is paid for by the taxpayer.

5. Don the Radio Guy

Donator

Good to see the ACLU is fighting for important things like helping state employee unions. Meanwhile us peons can't even get a job at Wal Mart without taking a drug test.

6. Party Rooster

Party Rooster Unleash The Beast

The ACLU battled Walmart over that (and lost) in Michigan.

That being said, if it's constitutional for private employers to test, even in non-"safety" positions, I don't see why public employees should be any different.