FU Stupid Volunteer EMS and Fire people.

Hudson

Supreme Champion!!!!!
Donator
Jan 14, 2002
Land of misfit toys
OK, first let me qualify..I am a volunteer EMT and Firefighter myself. I work for a paid ambulance as well.
Last night there was an MVA at a lakeside community. Police arrive on scene and reports wires down, appears driver has fled the scene. Fire capt. shows up and decides to radio a call for a full box MVA with possible aquatic rescue, but no patient. (All Fire/Vehicle rescue/BLS/ALS/Water Rescue/ Helicopter on standby) Police report that the person living in the house across the street stated they heard the crash and went to see what happened. Homeowner stated they saw another car stop at crash site, open the rear left passenger door, and then speed off. Local police reported that they had a DUI stop about 5 miles away..with the apparent owner of the vehicle in the accident in the back seat of the stopped car... Ok, fire captain on scene decided a full search of the area including waterfront was in order. 40 minutes goes by and the omidon still has nary a patient. Finally, they release us from the scene..because apparently there was no patient. (DUMMY! the local police already had him in custody..this isn't Mary Jo Kopeckne!)

Hudson

Supreme Champion!!!!!
Donator
Jan 14, 2002
Land of misfit toys
So somebody wasted 40 minutes of your time at work? Oh the humanity.:action-sm
No, somebody wasted resources. Would you take an entire fire company out of service for a wild goose chase that lasted 2 hours Cost: 7,500 ? A water rescue team that costs 1000 to roll, more to put in the water? A Helicopter evac that costs 16,000 to put on the tarmac, more fly, more to transport? A paramedic truck that costs 6000 once on scene, more once there is a patient and drugs are administered?? For a patient THAT WAS NOT THERE????
Guess who pays??? YOU DO! Volunteer and paid companies get $$$$ from your insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, and taxes.

Hudson

Supreme Champion!!!!!