Getting tired of work - again

MayrMeninoCrash

Liberal Psycopath
Dec 9, 2004
Loveland, CO
I know this will probably come across as an entitled rant/whine, but it has happened before and I don't know what the hell is wrong with me.

As some of you know, I work in construction as an engineer, my primary duties are overseeing the work in the field and making sure everything goes smoothly. Over the last 10 years I've gotten into a groove where I get on a project (most last 3-4) years, hit the ground running, then get mired down in bullshit and feel like I need a change of scenery. I've quit 2 companies and gone to work for competitors because of this funk in the last 7 years, always after working for 3-4. Typically these moves are purely selfish, with no real promise of great advancement, just a new address to move to. Work has always been the same. I believe my career has taken a hit because of it, and could've advanced much farther if I stuck it out with the original companies.

I'm feeling that way again. I've been in California now for about 3 years and have been working on my current project for 2+. I really feel like it's time for a change of scenery. Problem is, that my current role is more or less a facilitator and a second set of eyes and ears for my company on this project. I've asked for more responsibility because I am in a rut and was told basically NO, to focus on this job and protect our company's interests. It was that response that basically set the wheels in motion for me again that it's time to move on. This company has treated me well, given me an excellent position and the salary is great, but I feel like, as destructive as it sounds career-wise, that it's time to seek a new adventure. What can I do to shake that feeling and tell myself that the best thing is to stick it out and hopefully a new opportunity will present itself within the company soon?

Jun 2, 2005
Dallas