Hike/camp @ Assateague island

Buster H

Alt-F4
Wackbag Staff
Dec 6, 2004
Lower Bucks Co, PA
So, I have been wanting to do a trip there for a while. The national seashore park has some backcountry camping sites.

I'm looking to go on the weekend of Nov. 17. There's a meteor shower that night as well.

The back country campsites are 4-10 miles back in.

Originally, I planned to kayak out in the back bay. As I stated planning the trip, I found that the bayside campsites are closed for hunting that weekend. After double checking with the park rangers, I wouldn't be able to access the Oceanside sites from the bay. We COULD paddle back in the ocean, but there's regularly 3-4 foot waves in the surf. I have some lesser experienced people coming with me. That's not something I wanna try in November.

With all of that said, it looks like we are stuck doing it on foot. We're gonna go to the one site that's 4 miles back. The problem is, there's zero fresh water there. At 1 gal a day, that's close to 17lbs of water to go in the pack per person for 2 days. Plus, we're hiking out across the sand. That's going to be a bit tiring. We will plan our hikes in/put around low tide in the hopes of being able to travel on the harder sand down at the water line though.

Just thought I would share the planning stages here. Right now, the plan is still in its infancy.

whiskeyguy

PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.
Donator
Jan 12, 2010
Northern California
I don't think I'd ever hike somewhere with no freshwater... it's just too much of an inconvenience. Water is heavy and takes up space.

You do have a couple of things going for you... I'm assuming you're not going to have much of an elevation gain? Even if you don't, hiking in sand probably negates the relatively flat ground. Second is you're hiking when it should be cold, so you won't be sweating from heat alone. If you take food that doesn't require water to prepare, you could probably cut your load a little.