I need a new PC...Help

madbam

I'm on da Zoloft..........
Aug 2, 2001
Poughkeepsie, NY
My Home PC is over 6 yrs old (DELL DImension 8200) and it finally shit the bed...nasty virus..long story...anyway..I have been researching the hell out of what's available and I am really confused and overwhelmed..I am not a gamer but like the occasional GTA or half life game...I surf the net everyday and use itunes and burn cd's/....do I stick with DELL or go to another PC brand..I don't want to build my own because I just don't have the time..any suggestions are welcome..Thanks:icon_mrgr

Than McNally

Jan 16, 2007
WV
apple.com
get ANY mac and get parallels to run windows inside of it for your occasional gaming.

nuff said. and NO i am NOT like the apple guy on todays show. they are just slick machines. i am a software engineer, i build stuff for windows and love my mac.

thelord68

There's always time for lubricant
Feb 24, 2003
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
What's your budget?

The Mac route is going to cost you at least $1400. (iMac w/ATI graphics, Parallels, and Windows XP)

Something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883107396
will give you virtually everything you need - just add monitor (even a 20") and you're still under a $1000. It has integrated graphics, which is weak for games, though better than most other integrated options. It does have a slot to add a dedictated graphics card.

For Dell (though I try to avoid them), the XPS 410 with 2 gig and Windows XP will run you $999, includes Core 2 Duo, Nvidia 7300 grahics w/256mb, 250 gig hd, DVD+-RW/DL burner, 19" LCD.

Any machine you're going to buy will be good for the standard internet/email/word processing/music.

Gaming is a different issue. Generally you want a dedicated graphics card, though for casual gaming, you're not talking a big premium.

Whatever you do, spring for at least 2gig of ram if the machine has Vista on it. If you've got a choice, stick with XP for now.

Sinn Fein