I need some Windows 2003 Server technician advice.

ShavedLebaneseBear

Question: What kind of bear is best?
Oct 17, 2002
West Coast
I am about to take a server position at my company. I have been a desktop tech for the past couple of years here and they just promoted me. The job will start pretty soon, and the promotion was a complete surprise to me, so I am in a bit of a time crunch. I was a Windows NT server tech years ago, but I have been out of the server loop since then. Obviously, I need to study up before I dive in. Since I am going into this pretty blind, I am asking for some tech advice from my fellow WB geeks...:icon_mrgr

If you had to choose 5-10 things to study up on, what would they be? In other words, what are the things that a Server 2003 tech absolutely needs to know and will absolutely have to know in order to do their job? Obviously, I do not expect someone to teach me how to manage a server farm, but I need to a hint at where to start.
The basics like TCP/IP, NTFS, etc are covered already, I just need to go beyond that. I guess I need advice on the newer technologies that Windows in using (DFS, etc?), and familiarize myself with the (vast?) differences between NT Server and 2003.

BTW - I am not expecting anybody to go through the task of teaching me an MCSE course, I just need some topics to research. I know a lot of people on this board are very good with all that is tech, so I figured there was probably a lot of server experience floating around on WB.

Any advice?

Thanks!

Aero 1

Mar 18, 2005
Clifton, NJ
its pretty much the same as xp but your not asking anything specific. what are you going to do with this? I assume your going to administer the whole network?