I'm about to pop my Mac cherry.

BusyChild04

I gotta return some video tapes.
Apr 28, 2005
Texas
I'm about to order a 17" MacBook Pro later on today. I'm getting it with my own options of:

Upgrading the processor to 2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Upgrading the hard drive to 250Gb @5400 RPM
Upgrading the screen to the High-Resolution Glossy Widescreen Display.

The total of it with tax and all is gonna be $3,571.17. But a friend of mine works for apple and is giving me his discount which will bring it down to $3,035.50. I'm a college student and that gives me a $250 discount. He doesn't know if he can add my discount to it but if he can it'll be $2,785.50. But I'm not counting on that. So I'm playing with the $3,035.50 ballpark. My question is. Will the 3grand be worth it? Or will I regret it? I do alot of DJing, remixing, editing, and composing and need a minimum of 3 USB ports (hence, me getting the 17 inch model.). I have an HP Pavillion dv1000 right now. Never gave me problems until now (it's 3 years old). And now I want a laptop that'll last me years from now. Is this a good idea?

Aero 1

Mar 18, 2005
Clifton, NJ
wait till next week. macbook pros will be announced based on the new Intel chips at Macworld.

weeniewawa

it's a man, baby!!!
May 21, 2005
Hell,California
once you go mac, you never go back

yea wait till after MAC world next week and if only for a speed bump in processors and bus. the prices might even be lower and the base hard drive might be bigger. that model will be good for years. apple will keep OSX working on the current equipment for a long time. I am typing this on an old powerbook, well 2 years old at least, and it runs the current OS just fine. newer = more gooder

BusyChild04

Apr 28, 2005
Texas