OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

I'm out of HDMI ports on my TV

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by Bobobie, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Bobobie

    Bobobie Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    11,240
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    My Xbox360 does 1080P over component. Is there any disadvantage of using the analog instead the Digital HDMI? It would free up one of my HDMI ports. The Roku only does HDMI or composite and the other two are PC's. There is another PC connector, but its VGA. It wouldn't output 1080P.
     
  2. Neon

    Neon ネオン
    Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    51,651
    Likes Received:
    18,420
    What about audio? HDMI carries both. With component, you also need RCA audio, which is analog. You can also get a cheap HDMI switch on Amazon. I just bought this one but haven't had a chance to test it yet.
     
  3. George Costanza

    George Costanza All Hail the Dragonslayer.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    When I worked at best buy we told people you needed hdmi to get anything over 720 p. I have been told hdmi is better but never tried component on my tv. You should still run the audio through toslink optical for 7.1 surround.
     
  4. CousinDave

    CousinDave Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    25,297
    Likes Received:
    198
    Can your TV/monitor produce 1080p with a component connection?


    Like NeonTaster said just get an external HDMI switch, you can get them that automatically switch, manual, or remote control
     
  5. the Streif

    the Streif ¡¡¡¡sıʞunɹɹɹɹɹɹɹℲ
    Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,909
    Likes Received:
    5,846
    Ted's HDMI Emporium is having a sale on new ports this week I hear.
     

Share This Page