OpieRadio Logo
Anthony Cumia Show Logo
Jim Norton Logo
  1. It's that time of the year again! Time to have our annual fund-raiser!

    If you enjoy Wackbag on a regular basis, we are seeking donations for our larger, annual costs! If you are able to donate to help keep the site running, we would appreciate it greatly!

    More details, and a breakdown of where the funds will go is here: https://www.wackbag.com/threads/donation-goals-2015.162061/

Looking for a large capacity external hard drive (4TB or so) with a power switch.

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by VMS, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. VMS

    VMS Victim of high standards and low personal skills.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362
    Likes Received:
    1,945
    I've got a 4TB Seagate external HD, which is nice, but my previous external HD was an Iomega HD that had an integrated power switch. That HD was only 2 TB or so.

    Anybody know of any inexpensive large capacity external HDs with a power switch? Or an HD enclosure with a power switch, so I can put a giant HD into it?
     
  2. Sinn Fein

    Sinn Fein Infidel
    Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30,316
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    I used this enclosure to build an external drive for my FIOS DVR:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817173043

    It has a fan, power switch, and can take up to a 3TB drive.

    Can't find any single-bay enclosures that have higher capacity. There are dual-bay enclosures that will take a pair of 2TB drives.
     
  3. jsc315

    jsc315 AnalCunt

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    50
    If your willing to spend a bit of cash check out a Drobo. It's kind of like a RAID system but very simple and redundant.
     

Share This Page