My computer randomly take forever to boot up.

VMS

Victim of high standards and low personal skills.
Apr 26, 2006
Normally, it takes less than a minute for my XP system to get to the password screen. Every once in a while it takes a good 6-7 minutes for it to get that far. I just shutdown, at some point an error message comes up (I'll have to try and remember what it is for future reference), and then I reboot with everything being fine.

It seems to happen the first time I boot my computer after midnight, but that could be my imagination.

I'm running Norton 360, with all the updates, and I've run the program several times so I'm fairly sure it isn't a virus or spyware. I hope.

Any suggestions? Other than lighting my computer on fire and dancing around it in a loincloth.

pure_waves

© Steven Carr Industries, 2014. Grrrrrrrr
Dec 9, 2004
Upper West Side, NY
im just a novice, but try this. go to run, then type in msconfig. and hit ok. look under the startup tab. are you running alot of programs on startup? that could be the reason for the problems.

for example my pc starts 4 programs on boot up, and it starts up relatively fast. but when i first took the comp out of the box, there must have been 40 programs starting, made it buggy and very slow.

Blue Heeler

Uber Listener / Asshole
Aug 24, 2007
KY
Norton sucks life from your PC, you're better off uninstalling that spyware and use something less consuming. AVG or PC-cillin are more gooder.

Party Rooster

Unleash The Beast
Apr 27, 2005
The Inland Empire State
How's the heat inside the case? Also, not to panic you, but your hard drive could going. When's the last time you ran scandisk and/or defrag?

Here's a great little utility that allows you to delay certain programs from loading so you don't have to wait for a complete boot to check the internet.

http://www.winpatrol.com/whyplus.html?index

Fr. Dougal

Feb 17, 2004