My old alma mater is finally getting a makeover

I was originally going to post this in the education forum...

Keep in mind that when I graduated from this school in 2005, it was a last resort school (especially for kids with LD). I couldn't be happier to leave. Now what was once a shithole is now apparently going up there with schools such as Lesley University and Wheelock College in Boston:

Mitchell College Getting New Look

Originally published in The Day 08/06/07

New London — Students at Mitchell College will be greeted by a new dining center and construction of a new building when they return to school in a few weeks.

After preparing a master plan for the campus, the college began the first of a three-phase improvement project earlier this year.
Crews from the Carlin Construction Co. of New London have laid the foundation and begun framing a 12,000-square-foot building called the Ric and Dawn Brill Duquès Academic Success Center. Meanwhile, work to transform the first floors of the Clarke and Weller centers into 8,000 square feet of modern dining facilities began in May and will be complete by mid August.
The overhaul includes the creation of a dining center with a pizza station, stir-fry to order and pasta and salad bars, and a restaurant-style dining area. Linked with a porthole-style window and a walkway nicknamed “Main Street,” a cyber café next door will offer grab-and-go food, Internet access and outdoor seating on a landscaped plaza.
The college has relocated a historic building now called Beebe Cottage to a new foundation about 20 feet from where it stood and, with a small addition, is turning it into a mailroom and center for visitors. (A video of the move can be seen online at www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uiAiQt8F_I .) The Michael's Dairy property, purchased last year, now includes a new bookstore space and Red Barn Café along with the ice cream shop.