OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

New router pissing me off

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by MayrMeninoCrash, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,065
    Likes Received:
    8,333
    I just got a new Belkin router to replace our old one. However setting this thing up seems to be a nightmare. I can't connect to it with my Android phone or net books, it wont provide an IP address to either device. For being the latest and greatest technology, this thing sucks! Is there some magic setting I need to adjust? It's set up for WPA/PSK protocol and the firewall is off. There's no reason thing shouldn't automatically be connecting to every device I punch the password into.
     
  2. Sinn Fein

    Sinn Fein Infidel and White Interloper
    Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    31,306
    Likes Received:
    2,066
    I can't get our Android phones and certain other things to connect to my router and access points if I use AES encryption. For some reason it has to be TKIP. Unfortunately, TKIP seems to limit connect speed to 54MB which is Wireless-G. But, at least it works.

    Luckily, both my router and access points can do multiple SSID's so I have one configured each way. PC's connect to the AES-encrypted SSID at 300MB and the phones and other crap connect to the TKIP-encrypted SSID at 54MB.

    You may be having a similar issue.
     
  3. weeniewawa

    weeniewawa it's a man, baby!!!

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    I see the wireless networking manufacturers have made great strides in making their devices more secure

    by not letting even the rightful owners have access
     
  4. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,065
    Likes Received:
    8,333
    Never realized the difference but now that I checked it out, I do believe that was my problem with my old router. Unfortunately the new router doesn't give me the option of TKIP without switching to WEP encryption, so I switched back to my old router. I would really like to find a router that supports two SSID's. Sounds like that might be the real solution to my problems.
     
  5. fletcher

    fletcher Darkness always says hello.
    Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    59,552
    Likes Received:
    19,770
    I have never had positive interaction with Belkin products. Everything that I have purchased from that company has given me a moderate to large pain in the ass. I avoid them like the plague nowadays.
     
  6. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,065
    Likes Received:
    8,333
    I hear ya but I feel like every router manufacturer (like every hard drive manufacturer) has some real horror stories to the point now where you can hardly trust any of them. I'm almost resigned to buy based on price now. I've had 3 routers die on me in the last 2 years after having my Linksys run like a tank for 5 years straight.
     
  7. Bluestreak

    Bluestreak This space intentionally left blank.

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    276
    Ok. If you've had a Linksys router run like a tank for 5 years, and it's time for an upgrade, why go Belkin (other than for price)?
     
  8. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,065
    Likes Received:
    8,333
    Because I've had a Buffalo, Cisco and a Mediacom all shit on me in the last 18 months. What else is there?
     
  9. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,656
    Likes Received:
    4,226
    I think I'm done with Cisco. I'm going to try DD-WRT on an Asus next. No more cheap routers either.
     
  10. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,065
    Likes Received:
    8,333
    The Cisco wins hands-down for easiest setup, too bad their products are shit. The Mediacom was fairly straightforward as well for an "off-brand". Everything seemed to want to work with it (until it didn't). But the Belkin seemed to be set up to make things as difficult and needlessly complicated as possible (and I fancy myself as a literate computer geek). I saw the Asus models on Amazon last night, perhaps I'll grab one of those once I box up this POS Belkin and send it back.
     
  11. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,656
    Likes Received:
    4,226
    I think for once I'm going to have to spend over $50 to get the quality I want.
     
  12. Bobobie

    Bobobie Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    11,240
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    My Linksys Router lasted 6 years before it started messing up, then bought a Netgear. I bought a Cisco/Linksys Router after my one year old Netgear Router died. I'd like a to find an old Linksys Router and use DD-WRT on it.
     
  13. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,656
    Likes Received:
    4,226
    I have four. They work, sort of. I have never had a constant connection ever.
     

Share This Page