OCZ ries 2.5" Solid State Drive - 240GB, SATA III, 6Gbps $139 Free Shipping

Apr 30, 2011
CLT
That is a REALLY good price, even before rebate. I just got delivered this same drive in the 60GB version for $60 with a $10 MIR from newegg. I have been building pcs for 15 years and usually upgrade no less than every 2-3 years and have not seen a performance jump more than installing an SSD for the boot drive. Write speeds are not that much more impressive than mechanical drives but read speed and boot is very impressive.

Bobobie

Oct 1, 2005
Bay City Michigan
It didn't speed things up as much as I'd thought for gaming, but it was faster in other ways. It boots up so fast that it's hard to really measure. It takes longer for my Asus Bios Screen to disapear than it does to boot windows. I never shut my computer off anymore. I just let it go into sleep mode and it wakes up instantly ready go. I have to remember to shut it down once in a while so it can do updates.
I think they are only going to get cheaper.

Mags

LDAR king
Donator
Oct 22, 2004
Ill Repute
It didn't speed things up as much as I'd thought for gaming, but it was faster in other ways. It boots up so fast that it's hard to really measure. It takes longer for my Asus Bios Screen to disapear than it does to boot windows. I never shut my computer off anymore. I just let it go into sleep mode and it wakes up instantly ready go. I have to remember to shut it down once in a while so it can do updates.
I think they are only going to get cheaper.
Yeah it seems they aren't the boon for gaming we all thought it would be. Not sure if it's better currently but a year ago I seemed to see a lot of gamer posts in other forums about SSD failures.

Bluestreak

This space intentionally left blank.
Sep 27, 2007
Mawl-din, MA
Out of the very small sample size of Crucial m4 SSD drives I've been installing for some people at work, I've seen 1 out of 5 go bad due to firmware not being updated.