OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

Power supply question.

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by kramer0419, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. Another question for you guys. My computer won't turn on. I'm almost positive it's my power supply. Now firstly, how easy are power supplies to install? And second how do I go about finding which power supply is best for my computer/ appropriate size. I have an acer aspire x1700 or something like that.
     
  2. Don the Radio Guy

    Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    69,628
    Likes Received:
    5,082
    It should be a standard ATX sized power supply, in which case it's only 4 screws.
     
  3. stevethrower

    stevethrower Got Sig?

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    47,991
    Likes Received:
    20,593
    Stoopid question... have you tried a different power cord or plug?
     
  4. OilyJillFart

    OilyJillFart Well-Lubed Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,835
    Likes Received:
    1,107
  5. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried a different plug. I'm pretty sure it burnt out or something cuz the fan on the back was loud and then it locked up. I thought it was the fan on the video card but it was the power supply.
     
  6. Hate & Discontent

    Hate & Discontent Yo, homie. Is that my briefcase?

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    15,763
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    I assume this is a desktop...

    You should be able to see a large label on the side of the PSU inside the case. Look at the total output (it will be listed in watts - 400W for example) and make sure your replacement has that much OR GREATER.
     
  7. JoeyDVDZ

    JoeyDVDZ That's MR. MOJO, Motherfucker!

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,428
    Likes Received:
    5,448
  8. Sinn Fein

    Sinn Fein Infidel and White Interloper
    Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    31,319
    Likes Received:
    2,071
  9. JoeyDVDZ

    JoeyDVDZ That's MR. MOJO, Motherfucker!

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,428
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    heh. Yup, sure is. Figures. Think there's any place to mount a standard PSU up inside it? Prolly not, most likely built like POS dells with their slimline PSU's.
     
  10. Hate & Discontent

    Hate & Discontent Yo, homie. Is that my briefcase?

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    15,763
    Likes Received:
    1,337
  11. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for being kinda clueless but is there anything cheaper than the $90 one sinn posted? Will the one from newegg posted up a few posts work? I gotta try to get out of this as cheap as possible. And are the power supplies plug and play? Or do I have to install drivers and shit like that?
     
  12. Party Rooster

    Party Rooster Unleash The Beast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    40,304
    Likes Received:
    7,462
    Since it's proprietary you're kinda screwed. Where and when did you buy it and what kind of warranty did you get?
     
  13. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought it like two years ago or something. And I think I only had the one year warranty. Im giving it to a guy to look at so maybe he can do something for me.
     
  14. TreeFortRichard

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    1,978
  15. JoeyDVDZ

    JoeyDVDZ That's MR. MOJO, Motherfucker!

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,428
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    Problem with these kinds of PSU's is they're built specifically for that machine or similar models by the same company, so a standard ATX power supply won't mount properly inside the case.
     
  16. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm gonna ask my friends husband when I take the computer to him, but is there a way to have like an external power supply?
     
  17. Sinn Fein

    Sinn Fein Infidel and White Interloper
    Wackbag Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    31,319
    Likes Received:
    2,071
    Not really. But if the other components are somewhat industry standard, you could move them into a new case with a power supply for under $50.
     
  18. blazin

    blazin Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,858
    Likes Received:
    411
    ive done some ghetto testing on slimlines where i just had the power supply box sitting on top of the computer with the wires running thru the power supply hole.

    other than a mess of wires coming out of the box, the connectors should be the same.

    I'll +1 with Sinn about swapping the stuff over to a new box. Might be your best bet long term.
     
  19. Hate & Discontent

    Hate & Discontent Yo, homie. Is that my briefcase?

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    15,763
    Likes Received:
    1,337
    The only thing that will fit in the existing case is the same PSU that came with it. A standard one will not fit.

    Doing this might work, if the connectors are ATX standard, but you can run into grounding issues that can end up frying the system.

    With a proprietary PSU, I wouldn't be surprised if the hole patterns on the motherboard were proprietary, as well. Obviously, if they are, you are never gonna be able to move that system to a new case.

    For the OP, just bite the bullet and either buy the OEM power supply that someone linked earlier, or buy a new computer. Trying to jury-rig a different PSU or case (especially with limited PC knowledge) is going to be asking for serious problems.
     
  20. Bobobie

    Bobobie Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    11,248
    Likes Received:
    1,969
    Yeah, $90 isn't really that bad for a proprietary power supply. Did you add a video card to the system? The life of a wimpy power supply is very short with even mid-range cards.
    Then it would be better to get a new case. You then wouldn't be forced to use those half height cards.
     
  21. weeniewawa

    weeniewawa it's a man, baby!!!

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    12,076
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    that stock PS is only 220 watts

    I vote for new case even if you have to just use a couple of the screw holes to hold the mother board down, you will be better off in the long run.

    and later you can get a new mother board and all to put in the new case and basically have a state of the art new computer
     
  22. Party Rooster

    Party Rooster Unleash The Beast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    40,304
    Likes Received:
    7,462
    That's what we're calling them these days? I never got the memo...:icon_cool
     
  23. kramer0419

    kramer0419 Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll probably just buy the stock PSU for now. It's the cheapest option. If I could afford it I'd just buy a new PC. But I'm a 24 year old with a mortgage, car payment, and a kid so I'm a poor fuck.
     
  24. blazin

    blazin Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,858
    Likes Received:
    411
    $69.00 + $9 shipping - ebay

    cheapest I could find for new. Listed for emachines, but I cross referenced the part number. The actual model of the power supply is ps-5221-06
     

Share This Page