Remote connection question

reddog_2711

Jan 11, 2007
Rochester, NY
A co-worker asked me for some advice, and I'm stumped on this one since I've never worked with it before.

She wants to connect from her work computer to her home computer, and used to use PCAnywhere for this. She now has Vista, and her PCAnywhere no longer works.

Does anyone else have any suggestions as to what to use for this?

Thanks

DanaReevesLungs

I can keep rhythm with no metronome...
Donator
Jun 9, 2005
Louisiana
I use GoToMyPC. $10 a month for 1 Computer. Works really good and not much lag.

thelord68

There's always time for lubricant
Feb 24, 2003
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Depending on which version of Vista she has, she can use Remote Desktop Connection (built into Windows) or VNC (Free). Either one will take some configuration of her router at home if she has one and for ease of use, something like DynDNs.com so she won't have to remember an IP address.

Another free option is LogMeIn Free. It is somewhat limited - but no more so than VNC. The Pro edition is $12.95 a month.

Teddy

Nov 20, 2005
Here
i use remote desktop connection (aka terminal services) i like it better then GoToMyPC and the client is bulit into every computer since xp.

to turn it on just go to the system properties and (windows key + pause break)

in vista press remote settings then click the bubble under remote desktop that says allow connections from computers running any version of remote desktop.

in xp just go to the system properties and check allow remote desktop connections

the user account the person wants to log into will need to have a password on it for this to work

To connect to the computer form another computer you will first have to open up port 3389 on the server computer then you click start run and type mstsc or go to accessories and click remote desktop connection client on the computer you want to access the remote terminal from and then type the ip address in and it will work like a champ.