OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

Removing carpet; Installing Laminate, now where to run coax?

Discussion in 'Wackbag Home Improvement & Car Repair' started by ruckstande, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    I live on the second floor of a condo, I need to run cable from the back to the front and across a hallway. I can't go underneath and have to run it along the not yet bought baseboard and hallway entryway. Are there decent products out there for concealing cable? I'm going through the trouble of making it look presentable to sell so I don't want it to look like shit.
     
  2. stevethrower

    stevethrower Got Sig?

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    47,960
    Likes Received:
    20,566
    Well you have to leave an expansion space for the laminate so your new baseboard shouldn't come in contact with the laminate.... so I would run it in the space between the bottom of the baseboard and the floor... then install 1/4 round (fastened to the wall not the floor) to conceal it.

    A finish air nailer would be an asset doing this...
     
  3. Creasy Bear

    Creasy Bear gorgeousness and gorgeousity made flesh
    Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    47,686
    Likes Received:
    35,455
    Duct tape... works like a charm and it looks real classy.

    Ugh... as an ex-landlord, I've spent hours scraping and cleaning the duct tape goo off floors(and walls, and ceilings, etc...) where dipshit tenants have done their afro-engineered cabling jobs throughout my properties.

    They make electronical gizmos that send coax signals wirelessly... maybe one of those will work for you...

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_s...r+and+receiver&sprefix=wireless+cable,aps,255
     
  4. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,183
    Likes Received:
    21,789
    If you own the condo, running it through the attic/crawlspace and up into the wall should be an option.

    Edit: Probably should ask how many feet will it be exposed?
     
  5. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    I have access to the attic but I'm pretty sure I'm not supposed to run wiring up there. Not even cable. I have to double check though. As far as exposure, if I don't run it in the attic it would be about 40-60 ft.
     
  6. d0uche_n0zzle

    d0uche_n0zzle **Negative_Creep**

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    46,504
    Likes Received:
    6,788
    Put it in a conduit if you're nervous about an 'exposed' wire in the attic.
     
  7. metallikat87

    metallikat87 Well-Known Member
    It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    532
    the attic will look the nicest, why wouldnt you be allowed to run it there? its a real bitch to fish the cable down the wall and out of an outlet if you do it that way but it looks very professional
    if its going to be outside the walls, a piece of surface-mount wire mold is probably your best bet for hiding it. wire mold is paintable so it wont stick out too much if you paint it the same color as the wall
     
  8. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    Don't know. I had read we can't do it, I thought, but when I did my kitchen I didn't get any complaints when I told the board I was putting new outlets in. I just don't think we're supposed to be up there. Not every upstairs unit has attic access. I can't even go up there yet because it's too damn hot. I've never been up there either so I don't know what there is to stand on. I may have to buy some wood planks.
     
  9. metallikat87

    metallikat87 Well-Known Member
    It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    532
    you probably have a common attic that is shared with a few units and they dont want you to fall through the ceiling into someone elses bedroom. id prob just do it and not tell anyone, or go with the wire mold to hide it
     
  10. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,183
    Likes Received:
    21,789
    Yeah, I'd just run it through the attic. They'd probably never even notice you did it, and 40'+ is a long way to have exposed wire. It's really the only professional way to do it.

    So the coaxial cable was previously running underneath the carpet?
     
  11. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    It is and luckily we just had our roof re shingled so hopefully no visits from anyone.
     
  12. fletcher

    fletcher Darkness always says hello.
    Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    59,552
    Likes Received:
    19,770
    They are called rafters, they hold your ceiling up. Usually about a foot and a half apart, you can walk on them.
     
  13. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    Yes, I know, but every attic I've been in has been in someone's house and they were nice enough to put plywood down to stand on.
     
  14. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    Yes it was under the carpet and in some places it comes out and runs around a door frame. It sucks. I actually found some of the cable was stuck on the carpet tacks.
     
  15. metallikat87

    metallikat87 Well-Known Member
    It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    532
    yeah, ive seen that. makes for a good picture on your tv
    if you do the attic/wall route get some low voltage rings and cable outlet faceplates and nobody will ever know they werent built into the place when it was new
     
  16. stevethrower

    stevethrower Got Sig?

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    47,960
    Likes Received:
    20,566
    While you are at it I would run some Cat 5 cable as well... and use these... for the plates...

    [​IMG]

    You can get the plates with 1 to 6 outlets and you can run data/cable/fiber/speakers etc depending on what plug you insert in a hole.

    And use a renovators switch box for running the cables in...

    [​IMG]

    You will need a fish tape to fish the wires down the wall though...
     
  17. MayrMeninoCrash

    MayrMeninoCrash Liberal Psycopath

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,075
    Likes Received:
    8,335
    Can you punch it through the wall and run it outside the unit to the wall closest to the TV?
     
  18. gorram

    gorram ;)

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34,640
    Likes Received:
    91,716
    You mentioned you had not purchased the baseboard, you can get them that have hidden channels in them like wiremold. Having to go around corners might be tricky though with high bandwidths of cable or sat today you really shouldnt bend cable at a sharp 90 like it sounds like you are doing. If you did not mind wiremold they make all the connectors and pieces to do all kinds of inside or outside 90s that splice the sticks together.

    The attic is absolutely the way to go but fishing wire in walls can be tough for a pro even with specialty tools like bending drill bits and fish rods, magnets, helper etc... Best to try and open a hole in the "top plate" of the wall you want to fish down to and send something down to see if there are any obstructions. You just never know when a contractor has blocking in the wall keeping you from getting past with a fish. Getting past insulation can be a bitch too and where the fiberglass rods come in handy.

    Why not just cut the cable loose and let the next owner worry about it. The cableco or sat provider will do this work for the homeowner during their install, wall fishes may not come with a free install in most cases though.
     
  19. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    Cat 5 was my other thought as well. I hate running two wireless routers bridged to stream to my Xbox.
     
  20. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    The attic is the root I'm going to go. I just need to get up there.
     
  21. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,183
    Likes Received:
    21,789
    Yeah to expand on show_reference's post, sending it down an interior wall is much easier than an exterior one in most cases, so if that's an option you should consider it. Interior walls wont have insulation. Also consider what's on the other side of the wall. If its a kitchen or bathroom, there may be plumbing in the walls (and thus blocking) which will make it more difficult.
     
  22. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    I've seen the neighbors and it's the same as my place. Nothing runs between the walls where I want the cable to go. What I do notice is though, when I pound on the wall it sounds solid as opposed to the other side of the condo where I have seen the wall was hollow between many other neighbors place.
     
  23. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,183
    Likes Received:
    21,789
    Walls between condos may be insulated also... it's pretty rare, but if they're decent places they may have done it to keep down the noise.
     
  24. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,662
    Likes Received:
    4,230
    The wall in my kitchen had a space between the drywall and cinder block. It was quite drafty and stinky. You could find the studs easily by tapping. The wall I want to run cable down sound solid. I just tried opening up an old phone jack in the wall to see if I can see anything behind the wires but the box the wires are in looks more like a lead pipe and I can't see past it.
     
  25. gorram

    gorram ;)

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34,640
    Likes Received:
    91,716
    Since you dont want to go tearing up the walls the thing to do is drill a hole in the top plate, prepare for the chance that it could be double thick with 2 2x4s stacked. Since you can cut a hole in the top plate in the attic for the wall you want to fish if there is a problem you can always just abandon the hole and drill elsewhere. Drill yourself a 1-2" hole if you can for some wiggle room, then you need to come up with some kind of push rod to send down this is when you will know if there is insulation in the wall. With push rods it wont really matter since you will slip under or over the insulation. If it is an interior wall with no insulation then you may be able to see with a flashlight all the way down the wall, in that case just start feeding it down.

    This is the type of push rod fish I am talking about: http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical...splay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&storeId=10051

    If you can send those push rods down with out resistance then you will know you are good to make the cutout for your box (if you dont have keyhole saw, serrated knife will do). Do like the picture of Harold posted earlier in the thread but it might be easier to buy the "after construction" or "low voltage" box without a back on it since even with the "box" in the wall you can still get your hand if need be.

    http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc...ngId=-1&keyword=low+voltage+box&storeId=10051

    Not sure how hot it is right now in Jersey but here in Charlotte, NC no fucking way want to be doing this in the next 2 months unless you can get your ass up there first thing in the am.
     

Share This Page