Rumor: New 40GB $400 PS3 by Christmas

MrAbovePar

En Taro Anthony
Mar 14, 2005
13,779
3,173
678
Covington. La
#1
Someone at Arstechnica posted a rumored new SKU.

http://arstechnica.com/journals/thu...-in-our-mole-lets-us-in-on-sonys-future-plans

It'll be essentially the cheaper build (the same used in the 80GB PS3) repackaged with a smaller HD. It seems unlikely though as the minimal hardware difference wouldn't justify a $100 price difference. That is unless Sony was actually making money off of the $500 version.

So I think if we see a $399.99 PS3 by Christmas then either Sony has moved beyond desperate or their PS3 line isn't bleeding money like they were at the start.

Also, the rumor is they'll be dropping the PS2 price to $100 and they'd put Spiderman 3 (retail price $40) in the PS3 for Christmas.

A lot of this seems unlikely though. But... it would be nice to see the PS3 get cheaper.
 

Razor Roman

Save the USH!
Aug 27, 2002
10,393
0
366
Sayreville NJ
#2
only thing I would think would be maybe they are trying to be a little more aggressive pushing the BluRay hardware...
 

Beeman99

Registered User
Mar 14, 2005
13,787
2
0
#3
why would they drop the 60gb but then add a 40gb, that almost as stupid as letting the ******* live
 

MrAbovePar

En Taro Anthony
Mar 14, 2005
13,779
3,173
678
Covington. La
#4
why would they drop the 60gb but then add a 40gb, that almost as stupid as letting the ******* live
The 60GB has the EE chip in it. Dropping the price on a model without the EE isn't the odd part. Using a 40GB drive is the oddest thing of all. I could see them keeping a 60GB without the EE chip as it's what they're doing in Europe.

My guess is, if this proves true, they just don't want product confusion so they put it in as a differentiator.
 

HumpX

Character Assassin
Oct 30, 2004
4,432
0
261
Rhode Island
#5
I wish they'd release a model sans hard drive. I have several spares that i could use and save money.
 

KakTheInfected

Registered User
Mar 10, 2005
1,105
0
0
#7
I don't care what the price is as long as it has games, which it doesn't now. Call me when Gran Turismo 5 is out.
 

Your_Moms_Box

Free Shit / Socialism 2016
Dec 20, 2004
5,755
468
628
Dover, Delaware
#8
Have there ever been this many system reconfigurations for a system this early in it's life?

I am ashamed of both Microsoft and Sony for releasing multiple models anyway. You should make a system and stick with it.. enough of this "Elite" "Basic" "Pro" "Viagra" bullshit.... One system.. one price... that's all.

Now, on the other hand, if they released one with a 300GB hard drive preloaded with 250GB of porn... then I might buy one.... When the MSRP is $250.00 or less
 

Chlorofirm

Registered User
Aug 26, 2002
788
0
0
cleveland
#12
Sony doing these different bundles doesn't bother me because its not like they have added anything with the new models like MS did with the elite (HDMI). Yes, you can now buy one with a 80g drive now but if I really wanted a new hard drive I'd just go buy a 200gb sata drive for $100 or so.
 

frago

I am Jacks raging bile duct
Apr 27, 2006
508
0
0
#13
Sony could give me one and I would not take it.
 

stellarcomics

Registered User
Jul 25, 2005
6,947
1,575
658
#14
If they get the price under $400, I'd be very tempted to get one.
 
Oct 8, 2003
20,592
2
278
Chicago, IL
#16
$400 is what it should have launched as. Finally an acceptable price, maybe the PS3 can turn it all around.
 

Joe Avezzano

Registered User
Jul 9, 2006
1,000
1
0
#17
For $400, they must be losing their ass on each system they sell. They probably will make it up in game sales once the big titles come out, where the profit margin must be huge. I heard on the news that each copy of Halo 3 sold was 90% profit.
 

ShooterMcGavin

Go back to your shanties.
May 25, 2005
18,029
1,380
643
#18
$400 is what it should have launched as.
QFT

And I agree with Kak. I don't care what price it is, I just want some good exclusive titles. Now that the system has been out for awhile, we are about to see some. Too bad it takes too long to make good games for the thing.
 

wrinkletard

How'd your 360 die?
Sep 30, 2004
965
51
463
#19
It doesn't include backward compatibility. The gamestop manager said it's also missing something else but I forget what it was.
 

Chlorofirm

Registered User
Aug 26, 2002
788
0
0
cleveland
#21
It doesn't include backward compatibility. The gamestop manager said it's also missing something else but I forget what it was.
No BC at all? I know the 80Gb model didn't come with the emotion engine, but it still has BC via software. I wonder why the 40GB wouldn't do any at all in that case.

I read it only has 2 usb ports altogether too, I think.
 

BlackNinja

How'd your parents die?
Jan 25, 2006
1,200
0
0
Miami
#24
the supposed lack of backwards compatibility should still be considered as a rumor, it could possibly be due to the removal of the actual emotion chip, and change to emulation(which is just a miscommunication). that move would be so astronomically stupid, plus it hasnt been confirmed as absolute truth so far. they cant be that stupid, can they?
 

MrAbovePar

En Taro Anthony
Mar 14, 2005
13,779
3,173
678
Covington. La
#25
The EE chip has been in all the 2007 model units. The 60GB= and the 20GB units were the only ones with the chip. 80GB and 60GB(PAL) units always used emulation.

Though it's my understanding the graphic chip from the PS2 was in all units. I guess they could rip it out and destroy all BC but for the cost savings...why bother?