Searched Naked at Gunpoint... My Bad Wrong House

From my buddy's blog:

It's amazing what little news the Supreme Court generates these days. As a criminal defense lawyer I have become used to the appellate courts backing police officers in questionable search or arrest situations (Atwater vs. Lago Vista).

Still the facts behind Los Angeles County vs. Rettele should shock even the most jaded criminal justice observer.

Police in LA County got a warrant to search a house for, get this... IDENTITY THEFT. Wow.. pretty scary stuff. Knocking before entry has been rendered uneccesary by the Supreme Court so the police break in unannounced.

The police swarm the bedroom and order the sleeping resident Rattelle and Sadler out of bed. The residents were both sleeping naked. The residents both try to get dressed but are ordered "not to move" at gunpoint.

The house had recently been sold. The suspects the police were looking for where black; they residents were white. The police made the residents stand naked for 15 minutes at gunpoint while they searched for ID theft evidence.

The residents sued arguing the search was "unreasonable" and violated their 4th amendment right. The Supreme Courts reply... Quit Whining, Law Enforcement is a tough job. The justices fall over themselves describing every danger an officer may face from weapons hidden in the bedsheets to hidden gunmen in the every nook and cranny.

Should police have to investigate the facts behind a warrant? Should the police have to use common sense during home invasion searches?

The SCOTUS answer-No and no. If an officers "probable cause" turns out to be wrong, it doesn't matter. The search is still "reasonable".