The cost of pharmaceuticals

Turtle

WACKBAGGER
Jun 8, 2005
I’ve been working for a pharmaceutical company for the past eight years so I know a thing or two about a thing or two about the cost of drugs. MM made some valid points about drug costs; drug companies do negotiate with insurance companies for Rx cost and co-pay amounts, the cost to make a pill is usually under 50 cents, there are generic meds that often do the same job as name brand counterparts, and in many countries meds are free and provided by the government. Let me take each point one at a time and give you another side of this argument.

Cost. When a new drug is about to be approved by the FDA, on average 8 years of R&D and government regulation have already been invested before the first pill is Rx by a physician. The company I work for has a new drug about to come out in Dec for schizophrenia. The company has invested seven years in R&D, patent process, and FDA approval costing a little more than $170,000,000. If the drug is not approved then all that investment is a loss. So the cost of the first pill is huge, the cost of the second pill is nothing in comparison. Also our patent life starts the day that we tell the FDA about our drug, not the day it is approved.

Insurance company negotiations. Large companies like Blue Cross often create a list of meds they want patients to use because they have negotiated with a drug company for a better price. The same can be said of any large organization, they negotiate with vendors to get the best possible price.

Generics. A few reasons that generics are not used; not as efficacious as name brand, may cause an adverse reaction with another medication, lack of experience by the physician.

Government. We could have the government pay for our meds like they do in England & France, we could also pay more than half our earnings in taxes.

Hoagie

I suggest you tread lightly
Wackbag Staff
Mar 24, 2004
Your Mom's box