This rules: Kids drawings fleshed out in oil paints

BIV

I'm Biv Dick Black, the Over Poster.
Apr 22, 2002
Seattle
Dave Devries takes sketches of monsters drawn by children purely from their imagination and renders them realistically giving them a truly devilish look. His collection of drawings and paintings form a 48-page book “The Monster Engine”.

Devries would project a child’s drawing with an opaque projector, and then faithfully trace each line. Applying a combination of logic and instinct, he then paint the image as realistically as he can using primarily acrylic, airbrush, and colored pencil.

Says Dave Devries:

It began at the Jersey Shore in 1998, where my niece Jessica often filled my sketchbook with doodles. While I stared at them, I wondered if color, texture and shading could be applied for a 3D effect. As a painter, I made cartoons look three dimensional every day for the likes of Marvel and DC comics, so why couldn’t I apply those same techniques to a kid’s drawing? That was it... no research, no years of toil, just the curiosity of seeing Jessica’s drawings come to life.
Just check it out:

http://www.amusingplanet.com/2011/04/monster-engine-childrens-drawings.html

This is my favorite:

Norm Stansfield

私は亀が好きだ。
Mar 17, 2009
I assume this guy is practicing to be an artist? Hate to be picky, but this would've been an excellent opportunity to focus on making the lights and shadows realistic (since nothing else really has to be). And he doesn't, he's all over the place, at least I don't see any logic in the lighting. They're pretty random, often the figures are lit straight from the direction of their shadow.

ShooterMcGavin

Go back to your shanties.
May 25, 2005