OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

TV Switches to Black/White

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by Yesterdays Hero, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. Yesterdays Hero

    Yesterdays Hero She's better than you, Smirkalicious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Recently moved. Hooked up the old 360 and the Wii. Both are via the old AV cables (the lame red, yellow, white ones).

    I turn on my crappy 40" Samsung 780p TV to use the game systems, and the screens colors are now black and white. There's also no sound. When watching a normal TV show, there's no issue. But any change of component, and black and white colors abound.

    To add the mystery, I bought an hdmi cable for tv to xbox. I figured "fuck av cables". It worked. 360 works perfect, yet the Wii with its av cable setup is still grey screened. Takes me to the main menu fine, but everthing is in black and white.

    Side note: the av wires are hooked up right. Dunno wtf is going on.
     
  2. Hudson

    Hudson Supreme Champion!!!!!
    Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    32,839
    Likes Received:
    4,557
    Change the date on the Wii to 2013 from 1955?
     
  3. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,655
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    Are you sure the blue and green aren't switched?
     
  4. ruckstande

    ruckstande Posts mostly from the shitter.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14,655
    Likes Received:
    4,224
    I also had a TV where there were AV settings in the menu that changed some shit.
     
  5. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,179
    Likes Received:
    21,788

    I know you said the cables are connected correctly, but the first think I thought was the yellow and white cables where switched. They're tough to tell apart sometimes and that would also result in no audio.
     
  6. gorram

    gorram ;)

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34,626
    Likes Received:
    91,686
    So two different sources, and assuming different RCA cables both had black and white image and no sound? Seems like the problem is on the TV end, can you try another source like a cable box or DVD player. Does it do it on all YELLOW "composite" inputs or does the TV have just one input, check on the side too. Some TVs have menu settings that can be independent of other sources so check and make sure its not something simple like the color is just turned all the way down. Look for a reset setting in the menu as sometimes it can correct weird errors. The fact that there is no sound seems like there is an analog signal processing issue with the TV. Since HDMI works the digital side of the signal board seems to be working fine.
     
  7. OilyJillFart

    OilyJillFart Well-Lubed Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,835
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    TV is fine, you were having a stroke.
     
  8. Yesterdays Hero

    Yesterdays Hero She's better than you, Smirkalicious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    No secondary set of inputs for the av wires. Just the one area. Nothing on the side. Tossed a picture reset in also. No go.

    Apparently there's a wii attachment you can buy that makes the will go to hdmi. Going to try and track one down. How the fuck shitty Nintendo can make a system with no hdmi outlet is prolific.
     
  9. Party Rooster

    Party Rooster Unleash The Beast

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    40,304
    Likes Received:
    7,462
    [​IMG]
     
    gorram likes this.
  10. gorram

    gorram ;)

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34,626
    Likes Received:
    91,686
    Looks like its just a bad "Main" board. It would be interesting to see if "component" (x3 RCA connectors for video: Red, Green, Blue +Red/White for sound) was working. Your set may have a shared yellow/green if it is a newer. If you can do HDMI for everything then that is good. It usually fails the other way around, where HDMI fails while the analog inputs work fine.
     
  11. NotSoFast

    NotSoFast Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,069
    Likes Received:
    2,699
    No one needs HDMI for the Wii's shitty 240p resolution.
     
  12. Yesterdays Hero

    Yesterdays Hero She's better than you, Smirkalicious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    3,870
    Would agree with a shitty main board. Whatever the cause, it's up and running now. Just ar random.

    The wii does have shitty resolution. But when you can play the 30 or so great games across two systems, its good to have it up and running.
     

Share This Page