OpieRadio Logo
Compound Media Logo
Jim Norton Logo

Winmagic SecureDoc Encryption

Discussion in 'Wackbag Tech Support' started by blazin, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. blazin

    blazin Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,858
    Likes Received:
    411
    Does anybody have experience with this?

    I have an XP laptop that will not boot and I need to run chkdsk on it to fix the issue.

    However, I cant because the disk is encrypted

    Normally, when you turn the computer on, the SecureDoc screen comes on and I have to enter the username and pw to "unlock" the disk- however, when I boot from CD I don't get to do this.

    When I pull the HD and dock it on another computer, it thinks the drive needs formatting (because its encrypted)

    What do I do? Seems like I need a special boot disk or something.
     
  2. OccupyWackbag

    OccupyWackbag Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    189

    Oh god not this thread again!
     
  3. JoeyDVDZ

    JoeyDVDZ That's MR. MOJO, Motherfucker!

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,425
    Likes Received:
    5,448
    Gotta say, if you don't have a method of accessing the drive to bypass the encryption, you may be screwed. At my job, we use pointsec, and when they shit the bed, they usually require a complete wipe. That's the unfortunate side effect of the program doing its job.
     
  4. blazin

    blazin Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,858
    Likes Received:
    411
    I thought I did, I downloaded something called "SecureDoc Media Viewer" and when I dock the drive on this PC it does indeed say "Encrypted media detected" but I cant do anything else.

    I know the credentials to sign on the system. At this point, Im just looking for some way to pull the files.
     
  5. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy PR representative for Drunk Whiskeyguy.

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    36,186
    Likes Received:
    21,789
    It doesn't require a wipe, you just never figured out how to unlock the encryption. Open the safe!
     

Share This Page